User management :: Cerbos Authorization Management Platform // Documentation

User management

A Cerbos Hub user can have a role at the organization level and an optional set of roles for each workspace. All of these roles are considered when determining the permissions for any particular user.

Organization roles

Organization roles, except for the Member role, apply to all workspaces within the organization. Users with organizational role of Member must be explicitly granted workspace roles in order to access a workspace.

Action Owner Developer Analyst Viewer Member
View organization
Modify organization
Manage members
Invite a member
Create a workspace
Create a playground
Update a playground
Delete a playground
Export a playground
Connect a PDP to a playground

Workspace Roles

Permissions assigned at the organization level are inherited by all workspaces. Additionally, a user can be assigned specific roles within a workspace, potentially granting more permissions for that particular workspace only.

Action Owner Developer Analyst Viewer
View a workspace
View builds
View decision points
View issues
View audit logs
Manage API keys
Reset encryption key
Manage workspace members
Modify workspace
Delete a workspace

Deleting an organization

Organizations can be deleted by navigating to the organization settings page and clicking Delete organization. This action is irreversible and permanently deletes all data associated with the organization, including all workspaces, policy stores, deployments, and audit logs.